2016 Distinguished Faculty Awards

Norfolk State University’s Distinguished Faculty Awards are presented to faculty members chosen from nominations by colleagues or department chairs. The program announcement indicating the nomination and selection period is made annually by the President. Nominations of qualified faculty can be made by anyone. The 2016 Distinguished Faculty Awards were recently presented to:

  • Dr. Melendez O. Byrd– Distinguished Teaching Award
  • Dr. Kyo Song – Distinguished Scholarship Award 
  • Dr. Norma W. Brumage – Distinguished Service Award
  • Dr. Leon Rouson –University Professor Award 
Dr. Melendez Byrd

Dr. Melendez Byrd

The Distinguished Teaching Award recipient is recognized as an outstanding teacher evidenced by being an inspiration to students, by utilizing stimulating techniques, materials and methods designed to promote learning. This year’s recipient, Dr. Melendez Byrd has served as a faculty member at Norfolk State University for more than 13 years (2002-2016). Dr. Byrd is currently a tenured associate professor of Secondary Education and School Leadership in the School of Education. He holds a Ph.D. in Education Leadership and Policy Studies; Master of Arts in Education (School Counseling); and the Bachelor of Science (Business: Marketing Management) – all from Virginia Tech. Dr. Byrd’s teaching philosophy espouses a commitment to teaching, service, scholarship and research to ensure quality graduate education for his students. In turn, course evaluations completed by these future teachers are consistently among the highest in the School of Education.


Dr. Kyo Song

The 2016 recipient of the Distinguished Scholarship Award, Dr. Kyo Song, has served on the Engineering faculty at Norfolk State University since 1993. The recipient of this award is recognized as an outstanding scholar, as scholarship is defined in his/her discipline. The individual has demonstrated a pattern of productive scholarly activity which has been recognized nationally or internationally, as appropriate. He completed the Ph.D. degree at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln (Mechanical Engineering); the M.S. from Hampton University (Physics); and the B.S. from Inha University-Korea in Mechanical Engineering. Dr. Song provided assistance with the design of the McDemmond Center for Applied Research in the Research and Innovations to Support Empowerment (RISE) campus that was completed in April 2007.   Additionally, as department chair in 2008, he led the ABET accreditation process and acquired full ABET accreditation for the engineering programs in Electrical/Electronics, and Optical Engineering.


Dr. Norma Brumage

The recipient of the Distinguished Service Award has performed superior service to the University, the profession and/or the wider community. The 2016 recipient, Dr. Norma Brumage has served as a faculty member at Norfolk State University for more than 18 years. She joined the NSU faculty in 1997 and is currently department chair and professor of Secondary Education and School Leadership in the School of Education. She received the education doctorate in Education Administration and Policy and the Education Specialist degrees from George Washington University; Master of Arts degree from Virginia Tech, and the B.A. degree from Winston-Salem State University. Dr. Brumage established a pre-college awareness model for educating first generation students beginning at the eighth grade.  This program, funded by SCHEV, was called GEAR UP (Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Program).  Notably, 50 percent of the participants enrolled at NSU and completed baccalaureate degrees.  She continued to work with the American Council for Education’s College is Possible initiative to train other universities/colleges throughout the USA to create pre-college awareness programs.

Dr. L. Rouson-IMG_9766

Dr. Leon Rouson

The recipient of the University Professor Award has performed in a superior manner in teaching, scholarly activity and service. This award is the highest honor the University can bestow on one of its faculty and is awarded only to an exceptional individual. The recipient of this year’s award, Dr. Leon Rouson, has served as a faculty member at Norfolk State University for more than 11 years. Dr. Rouson joined the NSU faculty in 2005, and is currently a tenured associate professor in the Department of Early Childhood/Elementary and Special Education. He received the B.A. in Teacher Education (K-9), and the Master of Arts in Curriculum & Instruction and Educational Leadership from North Carolina Central University; and the Ph.D. in Urban Education/Educational Curriculum & Instruction (PK-12) from Old Dominion University. Dr. Rouson is well-respected by his students, peers, and the research community.  Student evaluation commentaries, from undergraduate and graduate students, acknowledge his professionalism, creativity, and teaching effectiveness.  He serves as academic advisor/mentor/role-model to more than 60 education majors each year.

The 2016 Distinguished Faculty Awards are typically announced and presented during the spring semester at a special event. Congratulations to all of our distinguished faculty recipients!


Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: